The multiplicity of one-ness

Last post, I wrote:

“Must not get too attached to Boston Boy. (Too late!)”

Well, apparently I’m not alone. We IM’ed for a while this evening, during which time he wrote:

In all honesty, I do think this could be the beginning of something more substantial then just entertaining flirtation.

From there, there was a bit (a very little bit) of discussion of that concept…during which he worried I might think he was nuts, to which I responded, “Not nuts, and I’m glad you said it first.” There was also a bit of discussion wherein we found that we both believe that there is more than one “The One” out there for any given individual. And we both acknowledged that “The Multiplicity of Ones” was clearly the title of a math paper just begging to be written.

Still not really holding my breath. Well, maybe a little.

But anyway, it put me in a super-good mood. And now I am exhausted, so off to bed I go.

5 Responses to The multiplicity of one-ness

  1. michelle says:

    i love that feeling of flirting back and forth with a new boy. :)
    and i agree about there being more than one “the one”. i mean wouldn’t it be depressing if there was only one? what if we never even met each other?!

  2. Scott says:

    Meeting someone from Boston online? I think I read this story before. I won’t ruin it for you, but it has a happy ending.

  3. Beth says:

    I think it’s a sign to move back east. ;-)

  4. Samantha says:

    Don’t you dare move back east but feel free to entertain a weekend guest from Boston!

  5. Loverville says:

    I agree that there has to be more than just “the one”… I thought for sure my high school boyfriend was “the one”! Turns out he was “the one” for that particular era… same for the college BF, the late-20s BF, etc.

Leave a Reply

