Gratitude

Happy Thanksgiving, one and all! I called my sister this morning to wish her a happy T’giving, and mentioned that I’m a whole lot more thankful this year than last. I am grateful for my amazing family, my incredible friends, my supportive community. I am grateful to G-d for giving me the strength I needed to survive the past year. I’m grateful to my ex for calling off the wedding, because if he hadn’t, I suspect we’d be divorcing. And I am grateful for the many, many blessings in my life.

And in other news, I’ve been tagged by the lovely Samantha.

Here are the Rules:
1. Link to your tagger and post these rules on your blog.
2. Share 5 facts about yourself on your blog, some random, some weird.
3. Tag 5 people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blogs.
4. Let them know they are TAGGED by leaving a comment on their blog.

OK, here we go…

1. I hate walking less than about 10 feet behind someone. I will put on a burst of speed and pass the offender. Often when this happens, I have a racetrack commentary in my head: “And Midnite99 is closing in…and she takes a commanding lead!” Bizarre.

2. I was once in a fight, in junior high school. I use the term “fight” loosely, because really I was knocked around a few times; I suspect I did absolutely nothing defensive or offensive in said “fight.” Some girl a year ahead of me (and at least two years older than I, since I am young for my year) and somewhat bigger than I made lewd, insulting comments about my sister at lunch. I said, “You can’t say that about my sister.” She said, “Who’s gonna stop me — you?” I gulped, swallowed, and said, “Um, yeah!” None of my friends were in my lunch period, because they were all in band or chorus and had a later lunch. So this girl led me out of the cafeteria into the anteroom that had racks for books and backpacks, and she slammed me into it a few times, then walked away, laughing. I stood there, stunned, for a few minutes, then went to the principal’s office because I didn’t know where else to go. He asked what had happened and I told him, though I refused to repeat what the girl had said (to this day, I’ve never told anyone). Apparently, he called my Mom at work and told her, “Your daughter Midnite99 was in a fight today — and we’re so proud of her!”

3. I have a terrible short-term memory. If I don’t write it down immediately, I will forget it. This is true at work, at home, etc. If I have to do an errand after work and it’s not on my usual path, I will sing a song about it over and over and over until I’ve turned onto the proper street or what have you. For example: “I’m gonna get some gas today, gas today, gas today. I’m gonna get some gas today, before my car runs out.”

4. I’ve more or less given up my infeasible dream of being an astronaut, because (even post-LASIK) my vision isn’t good enough, and I don’t know any astrophysics. But if I could do absolutely anything in the world and not have to worry about money, I would want to try my hand at being a writer.

5. I’m still sort of semi-secretly hoping that, living in LA, I will eventually be discovered and cast in a movie and become a star.

OK, here’s where I’m supposed to tag 5 people. But there aren’t so many people who have blogs of their own who know about this blog, so that will be tricky. But I can do three: Stacey, Loverville, and Michelle — tag, you’re it!

5 Responses to Gratitude

  1. Loverville says:

    Happy thanksgiving… and thanks for the tag! I’ll have to think about these 5 facts… will post in the next few days.

  2. Loverville says:

    ps… I can absolutely relate to your #1! I’m a typical fast-walking NYer, can’t stand to have slow people in front of me!

  3. Lisa says:

    I desperately hope to one day be a movie star. However, I don’t live in LA. And I doubt many talent agents are seeking people to film in Waterloo, Ontario. BOOO

  4. ana says:

    I’m a typical fast walker too. I hate walking behind a group. But the running commentary in your head, hahaha priceless….I do dream of being famous, only not a movie star, I can’t act. Maybe a script writer, give me a call when you are discovered and need a nice story….

  5. michelle says:

    thanks for the tag! i am so behind on my memes but i promise i will do it soon :)

Leave a Reply

