Moving on

Thanks for the support…I saw it coming, of course, so it’s not such a heartbreak. It’s just disappointing. But plenty of fish and all that. So I’m back on JDate, though I haven’t paid yet this time ’round. Of course, the most interesting guy is one I first “met” in February who’s just peachy-keen except for one fatal flaw: he lives in Boston. Now, I know that R and J met on JDate whilst 3,000 miles apart, and their courtship had a gloriously happy ending in the form of a beautiful wedding a year and a half ago. But I’m not really expecting that to happen for me, because, well, those kinds of things never happen to me. I don’t live a fairy-tale life. But BostonBoy and I did IM for a while Saturday night and again Sunday evening, and then we ended up talking on the phone for a little over an hour Sunday night. Fun stuff. He might be visiting a friend in San Diego in the next month or two, but I’m not exactly holding my breath.

Tonight was fun — sushi with a friend, followed by my college friends’ annual Wild Turkey pre-T’giving party. To get in the door, you have to drink a shot of Wild Turkey. The evite says that if you don’t drink alcohol, you’re exempt; and if you’re vegetarian, they’ll provide a shot of Wild Tofurkey. Heh. The friends who were hosting are gay, and I was amazed to find one other woman there. We bonded over the fact that none of the guys noticed how cute we looked.

Tomorrow I am taking the bus to work to get there at 7, then SuperShuttle will pick me up at 2 to go to LAX with about 10 million of my closest friends. Presuming that the TSA understands that pie is not liquid, I will arrive in AZ with a crustless cranberry pie, as follows…

Crustless Cranberry Pie
(adapted from here)

1/2 c white flour
1/2 c wheat flour
1 c sugar/Splenda baking blend
1/4 tsp salt
2 c cranberries
1/3 c slivered almonds
1/2 c applesauce
1/2 c Eggbeaters, beaten
1 tsp almond extract

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Spray 9 inch pie pan or springform.
3. Combine the flours, sugar and salt.
4. Stir in the cranberries and almonds; toss to coat.
5. Stir in the applesauce, Eggbeaters, and almond extract.
6. Spread the batter into the prepared pan.
7. Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

3 Responses to Moving on

  1. michelle says:

    i’m sorry to hear about the breakup. trust me i hear you on not thinking there’s a fairytale ending for you, but there is. he’s waiting out there somewhere :)

    have a wonderful thanksgiving!

  2. Samantha says:

    I tagged you on my blog! Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. Loverville says:

    Sorry to hear about the breakup… but sometimes I feel that a breakup like this can be kind of a relief. Better to *know* than to be in limbo, yes?

    Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

