Sushi, chocolate, and the thrill of the chase

Event Guy and I have now had four dates.

Date #3 was dinner at his house on Saturday night. He made all kinds of sushi — I was most impressed. I made dessert, an excellent recipe that I expect to use (and experiment with) often in the future. Recipe is below. We had a lot of good conversation and laughter, though I did learn something about him that troubles me a bit. I’m trying not to overreact. I did mention my ex, and he took it in stride, asking a few questions but not acting threatened or anything.

Date #4 was last night. The reason we went out on Monday after just having gotten together on Saturday is that he’s leaving tomorrow for a softball tournament in northern California, and he’ll be back on Sunday. He came here at 7 and we sat on the couch and had a glass of wine (courtesy of my bewitching friend Samantha), then went out for Thai, then came back here and talked a bit more. But by then I was falling asleep, so he left around 10.45.

Here’s the thing. In some ways, I’m like a guy. I love the thrill of the chase, the pursuit, catching someone’s attention. I just don’t always like holding someone’s attention. He’s a great guy, an absolute sweetheart, not ashamed to admit that he likes me. I love talking to him. But I can feel myself starting to lose interest, which is part of why I suspect I’m overreacting to the thing I alluded to above. So I am hoping that he doesn’t call while he’s up north, so that I can have a chance to miss him and get all excited and fluttery again. Because, honestly, I want to keep liking him.

In other news, my young adults’ group had an awesome Shabbat dinner in the sukkah. And I’ve had multiple meals in sukkot – Shabbat lunch with friends, Sunday lunch at a kosher burger place with a sukkah in the parking lot, and tonight back at my friends’ sukkah. The meal tonight was pretty exciting – my first-ever meat sub sandwich, from the brand-new (opened yesterday!) Glatt Kosher Subway. They have a sukkah of their own in the back, but it was crowded, because about half the neighborhood was crammed into the store.

And without further ado, here’s the recipe I promised:

Chocolate Simplicity
(adapted from Chocolate & Zucchini’s Melt-in-Your-Mouth Chocolate Cake)

As the blog linked above notes, it’s best made a day in advance, or at least 10-12 hours in advance, to give the flavors time to meld.

7/8 c margarine (I used nearly one tub [1 c] but left a little behind, did not measure)
10 oz semi-sweet chocolate
1 c sugar
5 eggs (I used eggbeaters)
1 Tbsp flour

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Grease the sides and bottom of an 8-inch springform pan (that’s about 50 square inches – which would correspond to a 7-inch square pan, which probably doesn’t exist, or a 6×8 pan, which probably also doesn’t exist, but I like knowing these things). Cut a circle out of wax or parchment paper to line the bottom of the pan; grease the paper. Wrap the pan in heavy-duty foil so none of the batter leaks out. (That’s only necessary if you’re using a springform pan.)

Melt margarine and chocolate together (in a medium-sized mixing bowl in the microwave, or in a double boiler) and stir with a wooden spoon until smooth. I microwaved for 60 seconds, stirred, microwaved for 30 seconds, stirred more, and then it was all melted.

Add sugar, stir with wooden spoon, and cool for a few minutes.

Add eggs, one at a time, stirring well with wooden spoon after each addition.

Add flour, a little at a time, and mix well with the spoon.

Pour batter into pan and bake for 28 minutes. (Original recipe says 25, but my cake came out way too jiggly at that point, so I put it back in.)

Cool in pan 15-20 minutes (I only waited 10, which wasn’t quite enough.) Open spring and invert cake onto a plate. Cool completely. Original recipe says to wrap in plastic and refrigerate. Mine didn’t seem solid enough to wrap, and I never got around to refrigerating it, so it sat out (covered in a cake-carrier) for about 28 hours. Didn’t seem to hurt it.

When I inverted my cake onto a plate, it broke in two pieces. I knew Event Guy wouldn’t mind it, but I minded. So I pushed the two halves back together and glazed the cake:

Random Fix-the-Cake Glaze

Some apricot jam (maybe 1/2 cup?)
Some amaretto liqueur (few Tbsps, maybe 1/4 cup?)

Warm the jam over medium heat, stirring constantly. Reduce heat to low, stir in amaretto. Keep stirring and possibly add more jam or more liqueur until you like the consistency. Pour glaze over cake, spreading with a spoon, spatula, or pastry brush.

Ideas for future experiementation:
Reduce margarine to about 1/2 cup, supplement with 1/2 cup applesauce
Mix semisweet and bittersweet chocolate
Add 1/4 cup liqueur to batter
Glaze with berry sauce or mango sauce

If you have other ideas, feel free to let me know!

This Thursday night, a friend of mine has decided to host a Mexican-themed erev Simchat Torah dinner. So she wants me to make a Mexican-themed dessert. I’m making this cake, but I’ll add 1.5 tsp of chili powder to the batter. Then I’ll top it with sliced strawberries, and pour the following glaze over it:

Tequila Glaze
1.5 c powdered sugar,
3 Tbsp tequila
2 tablespoons melted margarine

Mix well. Prick holes in top of cake. Pour glaze over cake. Usually you’d do this while the cake was still warm, but since I don’t want strawberries sitting out that long and there isn’t room for the cake in my fridge, I will put the glaze in its own tupperware so I can transport it to my friend’s place, and I’ll glaze the cake just before serving it.

3 Responses to Sushi, chocolate, and the thrill of the chase

  1. Beth says:

    What about the thrill of getting to know a person? You’ve only been out a few times and there’s mutual attraction… I say keep seeing him… but keep checking your e-mail!

  2. Samantha says:

    Try going out with another guy and see how that is. You are not committed to event guy yet, so keep your options open a bit. Hopefully the trip this week will help :)

  3. Mike says:

    So what did you learn about him that troubles you?

Leave a Reply

