Almost ready for prime time

When my mother turned 29, she’d been married for six years and had two children. 13 months later, she had her third child.

When my sister turned 29, she’d been married for eight years and had three children. 13 months later, she had her fourth child.

When my father turned 29, I don’t believe he’d met my mother yet.

When my best friend from home turned 29, she was engaged to the love of her life. 5 months later, she married him.

When my best friend from LA turned 29, she was engaged to the love of her life. 7 months later, she married him.

Apparently, I have more in common with my father than with my mother, my sister, or my friends.

I had a rather boring date last night. I met the guy through SawYouAtSinai.com, a matchmaking website (the matchmakers browse profiles, and when they think they have a good match, they send the two people the profiles and each has the opportunity to accept or reject the match). He’s 33, divorced, and very dull. There will not be a second date.

There are 16 people coming to my birthday party for sure, plus a couple of maybes, including Math Boy who I had a few dates with a few months back, whom I’d kind of like to set up with a friend of mine, but she’ll be out of town this weekend so won’t be at the party.

My best friend in LA is relinquishing that title next month, because she’s moving to Maryland to be the assistant rabbi at a big synagogue. She is convinced that one of her congregants is going to come to her and say, “Rabbi, I’m ready to settle down and start my life with someone…I just can’t seem to find the right person.” And, as she describes it, he will be phenomenally brilliant (I think she thinks I’m far smarter than I actually am) and make piles of money, and he’ll be very committed to Judaism, and he’ll have a great sense of humor, and all that good stuff…And she’ll tell him, “I have this friend…” And then I’ll come out to visit her and meet him, and we’ll fall in love, and I’ll move to Maryland, and we’ll all live happily ever after. I hope she’s right, I really do, but I’m not holding my breath.

2 Responses to Almost ready for prime time

  1. Beth says:

    I hope your best friend from LA is right, because then you’ll be closer to your best friend from back home! ;-)

    Happy 29! I’ll see you in a few weeks!

  2. Stacey says:

    Wow, the women in your family get married early! I got married at 29 and am glad I waited. I had my first child at 33. Again, glad I waited.

    You are are a special lady and you are still young. It will happen. I have no doubt.

    Hope your birthday is as wonderful as you are — and that the coming year brings you much happiness.

Leave a Reply

