Advice from unexpected quarters

Well, I suppose the advice was from expected quarters, really…it was the advice itself that was unexpected. Comments from people at shul last Shabbat:

“So how was your weekend in wine country? Did you pick up any cute boys?”

“I know the wedding would have been last weekend. Did you do something fun?”
Yes, I went to wine country with a girlfriend. We had a great time.
“That’s wonderful! Next weekend, you should go to wine country with a boyfriend, though. Not a guy you want to marry — just a guy you want to spend a weekend with in wine country. Then you’ll be ready to face the world again.”

“What did you do last Sunday? I hope it involved a lot of alcohol.”

“Don’t date anyone seriously just yet. Go out and have a lot of fun with every guy who catches your eye.”

* * *

So basically, my whole shul wants me to get drunk and get busy. I can’t begin to tell you how amused I am. And hey, Purim is this weekend…”Be happy, it’s Adar,” indeed.

Leave a Reply

